No confusion: Bottle deposit, refunds rise April 1

Oregon's bottle deposit law has been in place since 1971

KOIN 6 News Staff - PORTLAND, Ore. (KOIN) -- Don't be confused: Oregon's deposit on bottles goes up to 10 cents on April 1.

A bill passed in the Senate -- and now only needing Gov. Kate Brown's signature -- aimed to smooth out any confusion retailers and consumers may have had about the hike in bottle deposit.

After April 1, all beverage containers covered under the law will get a 10-cent refund, regardless of what the label may say. And consumers, regardless of what the label may say, will pay a 10-cent deposit.

The current beverages show the deposit is 5 cents, and containers with that notation can still be sold through September 20, 2018.

On January 1, 2018 more beverage containers will be added to the bottle deposit list, and those will also carry a 10-cent deposit.

Oregon's 46-year-old bottle bill is the longest standing deposit law in the US.


More Stories

Meet the Team

  • The KOIN 6 News Team
    Copyright 2018 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Don't Miss

  • Game On!

    Game On!

    Watch Game On! at 11:35 p.m. each Sunday on KOIN 6, brought to you by Pacific Office Automation

    Read More »
  • Where We Live
    Copyright 2018 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

    Where We Live

    Each week, KOIN 6 News anchor Ken Boddie highlights an interesting piece of information about Where We Live

    Read More »

Latest News - Local

Video Center