This is exactly how the I-84/I-5 construction will affect you

Multnomah County
Plan_ahead__I_84_construction_will_affec_1_20180706002730

PORTLAND, Ore. (KOIN) — The major I-84/I-5 construction project is underway and officials are expecting it to make a mess of the commute.

Three of the bridges that connect I-84 and I-5 will be closed, one at a time, over the coming weeks.

The closures are so significant they could cause delays up to three hours and backups that can be followed all the way to the Gorge.

ODOT recommends telecommuting, adjusting work schedules, taking transit, riding a bike or just taking a vacation during this time. However, there are some detours in place: 

 

The closures:

10 p.m. Sunday, July 8 to 5 a.m. Monday, July 23: I-5 southbound ramp to I-84 eastbound closed

(Closed ramp shown in orange- Detour route in yellow)  I-5 SB to I-84 EB RAMP CLOSED: 10 p.m. Sun., Jul. 8 to 5 a.m. Mon., Jul. 23 (ODOT)
(Closed ramp shown in orange- Detour route in yellow)  I-84 WB to I-5 NB RAMP CLOSED: 10 p.m. Wed., Jul. 25 to 5 a.m., Mon. Aug. 6 (ODOT)

10 p.m. Wednesday, July 25 to 5 a.m. Monday, Aug. 6: I-84 westbound to I-5 northbound closed

10 p.m. Friday, July 27 to 5 a.m. Thursday, Aug. 2: Only one lane open on I-84 westbound from Lloyd Center to I-5. The far left lane will remain open during this period.

(Closed ramp shown in orange- Detour route in red )  I-84 WB to I-5 SB RAMP CLOSED: 10 p.m. Fri., Aug. 17 to 5 a.m. Mon., Aug. 27 (ODOT)

10 p.m. Friday, Aug. 17 to 5 a.m. Monday, Aug. 27: I-84 westbound to I-5 southbound closed leaving only one lane of I-84 westbound open from Lloyd Center to I-5. The far right lane will remain open during this period.

Get more information here.

Copyright 2019 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Top Headlines

More News

Don't Miss

More Don't Miss

Twitter News Widget