PORTLAND, Ore. (KOIN) — As voting concluded Tuesday, votes are being counted for candidates Jessica Vega Pederson and Sharon Meieran to chair the Multnomah County Commission – replacing the term-limited Deborah Kafoury.

The 11 p.m. release of counted votes shows Vega Pederson leading with 52% of the vote compared to Meieran with 47%.

KOIN 6 News will continue to follow this race.

Complete KOIN Coverage: Your Local Election Headquarters

Pederson and Meieran came in 1-2 in the May primary, besting a crowded field of candidates. Pederson more than doubled Meieran’s vote total in the primary but did not net 50% of the total vote.

The winner will serve a 4-year term as the new Multnomah County chair.