PORTLAND, Ore. (KOIN) — The first results for Oregon’s 5th Congressional District show Democrat Jamie McLeod-Skinner and Republican Lori Chavez-DeRemer taking the lead in their races.

As of 11:30 a.m. Wednesday, incumbent Democrat Kurt Schrader trails with 38.7% of the vote against Democratic challenger Jamie McLeod-Skinner who has 61.3% of the vote so far. About 53% of votes have been counted.

Meanwhile, in the Republican race, Lori Chavez-DeRemer leads with 42% of the vote and Jimmy Crumpacker follows with 30%.

Oregon, as with all other states, underwent congressional redistricting following the 2020 census. The 2022 primary is the first time the redrawn congressional districts will be on the ballot for voters to choose their US representatives.

Congressional districts are based on population. Since Oregon’s population grew enough to earn a new district, there are only five current US representatives — Democrats Earl Blumenauer, Suzanne Bonamici, Peter DeFazio, Kurt Schrader plus Republican Cliff Bentz — for six districts.

Blumenauer, Bonamici and Bentz are in safe seats.

DeFazio retired in the 4th District. Val Hoyle is the leading Democrat for the nomination, while Alek Skarlatos is unopposed for the GOP nod. Skarlatos lost to DeFazio in the last cycle.

Schrader’s district was reapportioned and he is facing a primary challenge in the 5th District. The new 6th District is wide open.


Kurt Schrader has been in the US Congress since 2009 after serving in both the Oregon Senate and the Oregon House. His opponent, Jamie McLeod-Skinner, has previously run for Congress but lost to Greg Walden (the seat now held by Bentz)


The GOP candidates vying for the chance to be on the November ballot include both familiar and new names: Lori Chavez-DeRemer, Jimmy Crumpacker, John Di Paola, Madison Oatman, Laurel Roses.

KOIN 6 News will have up-to-the-minute election results beginning at 8 p.m.

Complete KOIN Coverage: Your Local Election Headquarters