PORTLAND, Ore. (KOIN) — The race to replace Bev Clarno as Oregon’s Secretary of State won’t be decided until November. But the May primary provided a great deal of clarity, at least early on for the Republican hopeful.

Kim Thatcher, a state lawmaker, won the primary race with 85.33% of the vote. She defeated veteran candidate David Stauffer.

Meanwhile, it was still a tight race for the Democratic nomination. As of 5:59 p.m. Wednesday, Shemia Fagan took a slim lead over Mark Hass (36.02% to 35.51%) with Jamie McLeod Skinner falling to 27.69%

Who will replace Bev Clarno as Oregon Secretary of State?

Clarno currently holds the position but is not seeking reelection. She was appointed by Gov. Kate Brown after the death of Secretary of State Dennis Richardson in February 2019.

Each party’s winner will face the other in the November general election.

KOIN 6 News is Your Local Election Headquarters
Stay with KOIN 6 News and KOIN.com for results after 8 p.m. Tuesday