PORTLAND, Ore. (KOIN) — Despite low voter turnout, the incumbents on the Portland City Council are leading in their primary races — but Commissioner Jo Ann Hardesty’s could go to a runoff election in November if she doesn’t secure more than 50% of the vote.

Complete Portland City Council election returns at the bottom of this story.

Early Wednesday morning, Dan Ryan (Position 2) maintained a commanding lead with well over the necessary 50% of the vote needed to avoid the general election in November, but Jo Ann Hardesty (Position 3), while still leading her opponents, is pulling in about 41% of the vote.

As of 5:30 p.m. Tuesday, Multnomah County election officials said voter turnout was 26.62%

Official results from the 10 p.m. release show the following:

Position 2:

  • Dan Ryan 57.73%
  • AJ McCreary 24.98%

Position 3:

  • Jo Ann Hardesty 41.05%
  • Rene Gonzalez 24.30%
  • Vadim Mozyrsky 23.50%

“I trust voters and if we don’t win outright tonight, I have every expectation that we will win handily in November,” Hardesty said.

This story will be updated as events develop.

Hardesty is seeking a second term while Ryan is looking for a full term after winning a special election to replace Nick Fish, who died mid-term.

Unless one candidate gets 50%+1 in the primary, the top two finishers in each race will meet in the November general election, with the winner joining the Portland City Council in January 2023.


Dan Ryan won a special election two years ago and is now seeking a full four-year term. He is facing challenges from Alanna (AJ) McCreary, Avraham Cox, Michael Simpson, Sophie Sumney-Koivisto, Sandeep Bali, Renee Stephens, Steven B. Cox and Chris Brummer.


Portland City Council member Jo Ann Hardesty at her campaign gathering on Primary Night, May 17, 2022 (KOIN)

Jo Ann Hardesty went from community organizer and activist to the City Council when she won her race in 2018. Now seeking a second full-term, she faces a number of challengers: Vadim Mozyrsky, Rene Gonzalez, Peggy Sue Owens, Dale Hardt, Chad Leisey, Jeffrey A. Wilebski, Karellen Stephens, Joseph Whitcomb, Kim Kasch and Ed Baker.

In the current make-up of the Portland City Council, the mayor presides over four at-large councilors. Mayor Ted Wheeler and commissioners Mingus Mapps and Carmen Rubio are not on the ballot this cycle.

Depending on what voters decide later this year, the Portland City Charter may change the form of government to have more people on the city council, elected by specific districts rather than at-large.

KOIN 6 News’ Kohr Harlan contributed to this article.

Complete KOIN Coverage: Your Local Election Headquarters