PORTLAND, Ore. (KOIN) — Unofficial results show Jessica Vega Pederson in the lead for Multnomah County chair in the 2022 Primary Election.

Pederson currently has 40.33% of the vote compared to Sharon Meieran with 19.40% and Sharia Mayfield with 14.80%.

The election follows Deborah Kafoury departure as Multnomah County chair. Kafoury became the chair in 2014 and was the undisputed leader for policies the county has followed and implemented. But with her departure comes a number of people with their own ideas on what and how things should be done.

Meieran, Stegmann and Pederson are current commissioners.

Mayfield was a National Security advisor for U.S. Sen. Ron Wyden (D-OR) and served two years as an assistant attorney general for the Oregon Department of Justice.

Multnomah County – Primary results

Multnomah County is the state’s largest and most populous county and among its most diverse. The chair of the commission is the Chief Executive Officer of the county.

Kafoury is term limited. A 2016 charter amendment allowed current commissioners to run mid-term.

KOIN 6 News will have up-to-the-minute election results throughout election day.

Complete KOIN Coverage: Your Local Election Headquarters