416 new Oregon COVID cases, 3 counties added to ‘Watch List’


5 deaths bring total to 316

PORTLAND, Ore. (KOIN) — A total of 416 new confirmed/presumptive cases of COVID were recorded Thursday in 27 of Oregon’s 36 counties, along with another five deaths.

Umatilla County had the most new cases — 101 — while Washington County had 63 cases and Multnomah County 61. However, OHA officials said “Umatilla’s case counts appear to be very high due to a delay in processing their electronic laboratory reports.”

The overall Oregon number of cases since the pandemic began now stands at 18,131.

Of the five people who died, three lived in Multnomah County and two in Umatilla. They ranged in age between 66 and 85 and all had underlying medical conditions, authorities said. The death toll now stands at 316.

10 counties on ‘Watch List’

Also Thursday, Gov. Kate Brown announced that Lincoln and Union counties were removed from the “Watch List,” while Hood River, Marion and Multnomah counties were added. There are now 10 counties on the “Watch List,” which helps the state “prioritize resources and assistance.”

The other counties in Thursday OHA report are: Baker (3), Benton (7), Clackamas (22), Clatsop (2), Columbia (3), Coos (4), Crook (2), Deschutes (15), Douglas (2), Hood River (5), Jackson (10), Jefferson (12), Klamath (1), Lake (1), Lane (10), Lincoln (2), Linn (4), Malheur (18), Marion (38), Morrow (9), Polk (7), Union (1), Wasco (2) and Yamhill (11).

Continuing Coverage: Coronavirus

Follow KOIN 6 for the latest news and weather


Download our FREE news and weather apps for iPhone, iPad and Android. You can also follow us on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram, and sign up for our email newsletters.

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Media Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Twitter News Widget

Trending Stories