8 Clark County school districts to be online-only in fall


'It was a very difficult decision'

PORTLAND, Ore. (KOIN) — Eight Clark County school districts announced Wednesday fall classes will be conducted online during the ongoing pandemic.

The 8 districts are Battle Ground, Camas, Evergreen, Hockinson, La Center, Ridgefield, Vancouver and Washougal.

School board must approve a district reopening plan 2 weeks before the official start of the school year and before any plan can be implemented, Washington state guidance said.

According to state guidance, school boards must approve a district reopening plan two weeks prior to the official start of the school year and before any plan can be implemented.

In a statement, Clark County’s Public Health Director Dr. Alan Melnick said it was a “very difficult decision” to start the next school year online. “We all agree that in-person education is best; however, the data and science of COVID-19 suggest it’s just too dangerous to head back to the classroom right now.”

On Tuesday, Oregon issued strict metrics and guidelines before there can be any in-person instruction in the fall.

Continuing Coverage: Coronavirus

Follow KOIN 6 for the latest news and weather


Download our FREE news and weather apps for iPhone, iPad and Android. You can also follow us on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram, and sign up for our email newsletters.

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Twitter News Widget

Trending Stories

Don't Miss

More Don't Miss