Intel bans employee travel to 8 countries over coronavirus


The ban applies to China, Italy, South Korea and Japan

PORTLAND, Ore. (KOIN) — Intel has banned its employees from traveling to a handful of countries amid fears of a potential coronavirus outbreak in the United States.

The chipmaker based in Washington County first announced the restrictions on Tuesday, saying the decision was a “precautionary measure” in light of “continued issues and concerns.”

Intel’s travel ban applies to mainland China, Hong Kong, Macau, South Korea, Japan, Singapore and Italy. Iran was added to the list on Thursday.

Intel said any of its suppliers, contingent workers, visitors and guests who have traveled to, from or through those countries are not to enter an Intel facility for two weeks after their return. It also asked workers who feel ill or have symptoms like fever, cough or shortness of breath stay away from Intel facilities and seek medical attention.

KOIN: Complete coronavirus coverage

Follow KOIN 6 for the latest news and weather


Download our FREE news and weather apps for iPhone, iPad and Android. You can also follow us on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram, and sign up for our email newsletters.

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Coronavirus Podcasts

More Coronavirus Podcast

Twitter News Widget

Trending Stories

Don't Miss

More Don't Miss