Inslee moves 5 Washington counties to Phase 2


Some restrictions were eased in Washington last week

George Washington wears a mask during a news conference by Gov. Jay Inslee, July 23, 2020 (KOIN)

PORTLAND, Ore. (KOIN) — Governor Jay Inslee announced on Tuesday that 5 counties are moving to Phase 2 of his reopening plan.

Benton, Chelan, Douglas, Franklin and Yakima counties – all currently in modified Phase 1 – are moving to Phase 2.

“We know cases have started to tick back up across the state. None of us are out of the woods, but these counties have made tremendous progress over the last few months,” Inslee said.

As of Saturday, the state of Washington had recorded 93,035 confirmed/presumptive cases of COVID-19 since the pandemic began in March. To date, 2190 people have died in Washington from the coronavirus.

Last week, Inslee made 2 announcements regarding the pandemic response. He announced the extension of a moratorium on evictions through Dec. 31 at the same time he announced new grants for business owners.

One week ago, Inslee didn’t move any counties forward or backward in his four-phase COVID-19 reopening plan, but he did say more activities would be allowed throughout the state.

Joining Inslee at the press conference Tuesday will be State Health Officer Kathy Lofy plus Dan McConnon and David Schumacher, both from the Office of Financial Management.

Continuing Coverage: Coronavirus

Follow KOIN 6 for the latest news and weather


Download our FREE news and weather apps for iPhone, iPad and Android. You can also follow us on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram, and sign up for our email newsletters.

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Twitter News Widget

Trending Stories

Don't Miss

More Don't Miss