PORTLAND, Ore. (KOIN) — A state of emergency in nine Oregon counties continues Sunday as a winter storm continues to cause havoc throughout the state.

Gov. Kate Brown declared the severe weather emergency for these counties in the Willamette Valley: Benton, Clackamas, Hood River, Linn, Marion, Multnomah, Polk, Washington and Yamhill counties. Brown’s order remains in effect through next Saturday, unless the governor ends it before then.

Portland General Electric reported at least 4,000 of its power lines had been brought down by ice and tree limbs. Furthermore, multiple transmission lines across the area have been severely damaged.

Hundreds of thousands of Oregonians lost electricity as a result of heavy snow and ice accumulation and high winds from the winter storm.

PGE outages map
Pacific Power outages map
Clark County PUD outages
Salem Electric outages

Residents should remain indoors and to avoid travel. Officials said there have been many reports of falling branches and chunks of ice.

Also Saturday, Clark County declared an emergency over multiple roads in the region — particularly in Washougal – that became impassable due to deteriorating conditions.