PORTLAND, Ore. (KOIN) — With Independence Day just around the corner, fireworks season is now upon us.
Fireworks can only be sold in Oregon between June 23 and July 6 from retailers with a permit.
Fireworks are not allowed in national forests, Oregon State parks or beaches.
It’s also illegal in Oregon to have, use or sell fireworks that fly into the air, explode or go up more than 12 feet horizontally — including bottle rockets, Roman candles and firecrackers.
If you do buy legal fireworks, here are some tips from the Oregon State Fire Marshal:
- Be prepared before lighting fireworks: keep water available by using a garden hose or bucket.
- Be safe when lighting fireworks: keep children and pets away from fireworks.
- Be responsible after lighting fireworks: never relight a dud. Wait 15 to 20 minutes then soak it in a bucket of water before disposal.
- Be aware: use only legal fireworks and use them only in legal places
In the past 5 years, there were 1,264 fireworks-related fires, one death and 26 injuries in Oregon.
Fireworks offenses could result in fines and misdemeanor charges.
“All Oregonians share the responsibility to use only consumer legal fireworks and use them carefully,” State Fire Marshal Jim Walker said. “We encourage you to be aware and considerate of neighbors and their pets before deciding on when and where you choose to light legal fireworks.”
Those in Clark County can start purchasing fireworks on Friday, however, they can’t be used in most towns until July 4. Fireworks in Woodland and Yacolt can be discharged starting Friday while Battle Ground and La Center can start to use fireworks on July 3.
No fireworks are allowed within Vancouver city limits.
Follow KOIN 6 for the latest news and weather